Use System Restore to Undo Changes if Problems Occur

Every time you download or install a new game, application, or software update, you make changes to your computer. Sometimes that change may make your system unstable. Have you ever wanted to go back to the way it was? With System Restore, you can.

System Restore works a lot like the Undo command in Microsoft Word. You can use System Restore to remove any system changes that were made since the last time you remember your computer working correctly. System Restore does not affect your personal data files (such as Microsoft Word documents, browsing history, drawings, favorites, or e-mail) so you won't lose changes made to these files.

How does System Restore work?

Windows periodically records a snapshot of your computer. These snapshots are called restore points. Windows also creates restore points at the time of significant system events (such as when an application or driver is installed) or you can create and name your own restore points at any time. If you have installed a program that has made your computer unstable, you can open system restore, choose a restore point, and return your computer to its previous stable state.

 

Using System Restore on Windows 7/8